Annotated bibliography of the Arawá Language Family to 1950

Dixon, R.M.W. (2006) Annotated bibliography of the Arawá Language Family to 1950. International Journal of American Linguistics, 72 (4). pp. 522-534.

[img] PDF (Published Version) - Published Version
Restricted to Repository staff only

View at Publisher Website:


The small Arawá language family (not to be confused with Arawak) is represented by five languages spoken in the states of Amazonas and Acre in Brazil, just extending across the border into Peru. The languages are: (a) Arawá, extinct since about 1877 (see item 9 below); (b) Paumarí; (c) Sorowahá (first noted in the 1980s); (d) Madi, with dialects Jamamadí—sources 12–14— Jarawara and Banawá; and (e) Kulina-Dení, or Culina or Culino or Madiha, etc. (with one dialect also called Jamamadí; see sources 14 and 17). This listing aims to include all publications and archived manuscripts up until 1950 which include lexical, grammatical, or phonological data on languages from the Arawá family, together with selected works dealing with the classification of Arawá languages. Also early works which contain the first mention of Arawá-speaking groups (even though they include no linguistic materials).

Item ID: 17787
Item Type: Article (Research - C1)
ISSN: 1545-7001
Date Deposited: 04 Oct 2011 06:46
FoR Codes: 20 LANGUAGE, COMMUNICATION AND CULTURE > 2004 Linguistics > 200407 Lexicography @ 100%
SEO Codes: 95 CULTURAL UNDERSTANDING > 9502 Communication > 950201 Communication Across Languages and Culture @ 100%
Downloads: Total: 3
More Statistics

Actions (Repository Staff Only)

Item Control Page Item Control Page